News

2020 News

CHRIST CHURCH WILL REOPEN FOR WORSHIP ON WEDNESDAY, JUNE 17 AT 11 a.m.  

OUR FIRST SUNDAY SERVICE WILL BE HELD ON JUNE 21 at 9 a.m.


April 14, 2020

Dear Friends in Christ,

Happy Easter Week! Perhaps you tuned into the online Holy Week and Easter services provided by the Diocese of Iowa, or other places in larger cities. Presiding Bishop Michael Curry preached at Washington National Cathedral’s Easter service. It was a pre-recorded sermon for a cathedral whose pews stood empty on Sunday. But Bishop Curry said this, several times, as though singing a refrain:

“It’s Easter Sunday. It doesn’t look like it. It doesn’t smell like it.
It doesn’t really feel like it. But it’s Easter anyway.”

He ends his sermon singing about God: “He’s got the whole world in his hands.” Bishop Curry believes this. And so do I. Surely we know that times are tough right now. They’ve been tough for a whole month, and the tough parts are not over. There are days that feel discouraging, like life won’t ever get back to normal. That’s when we need to keep up our prayers more than ever.

No, it didn’t feel like a normal Easter. But we got through it. Jesus still rose after three days, the stone was rolled back, and the tomb stood empty! Alleluia! I am hoping to hear soon from our bishop about when to expect things to start up again. We will communicate more as soon as we know more.

In the meantime, I’ll continue to take part in pre-recording Sunday services at Trinity Cathedral. I hear that many of you are checking in on one another, and I sincerely hope that you continue that good work!

The work of the search committee for the next Bishop of Iowa also goes on. You are invited to complete a short survey to help form the profile of the diocese. The survey will reach your inbox soon. Paper copies will be sent to those who need them. Thanks for your help!

Faithfully,
Rev. Raisin


Wednesday, March 4: Lenten Book Study – Begins  @ 9:30 a.m. and continues for 8 weeks

Wednesday, February 26: Ash Wednesday @ 11 a.m. & 5 p.m. – Holy Eucharist with Imposition of Ashes

Sunday, January 26: Annual Meeting @ 10:15 a.m.


2019 News

Tuesday, December 24 @ 4:30 p.m. – Christmas Eve Holy Eucharist with Carols

Sunday, December 15 @ 4 p.m. – Blue Christmas Service

Wednesdays, December 4, 11, 18 @ 9:30 a.m. – Advent Book Study

Wednesday, November 27 @ 11 a.m. – Thanksgiving Eve Holy Eucharist and All-Parish Luncheon

Sunday, November 24 @ 9 a.m.  – Guest Preacher, The Rev. Meg Wagner, Diocesan Staff

Sunday, November 10 @ 9 a.m. – Bishop’s Visitation with Holy Baptism

Saturday, November 9 from 11-3 – Engaging All Disciples with Bishop Scarfe and congregations in Dubuque @ Maquoketa

Sunday, October 27 @ 11 a.m. – Holy Eucharist (Parish Hall), Live-streamed from Des Moines

Friday – Sunday, October 25-27 – Diocesan Convention, Des Moines

Sunday, October 20 @ 3 p.m. – Autumn Gathering: Games, trivia, music & more (Parish Hall)

Sunday, October 6 @ 2 p.m. – Blessing of the Animals

Sunday, September 15 @ 9 a.m. – Children’s Chapel begins

Wednesday, September 11 @ 9:30 a.m. – Bible Study resumes

Sunday, August 25 @ 2 p.m. – East Chapter Meeting @ Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, Davenport

Monday, August 5 – Wednesday, August 7 – The Great Parish Hall Floor Project!  (Call the office if you need access to the kitchen during these 3 days.)

Tuesday Evening Prayer – weekly in June & July beginning June 4 @ 5 p.m. in the chapel, followed by social time

Sunday, June 9 – The Day of Pentecost – Everyone encouraged to WEAR RED for the Holy Spirit, the birthday of the Church, and to celebrate our unity in Christ.

Holy Week Schedule:

Palm Sunday, April 14 @ 8 & 9:30 a.m. – Liturgy of the Palms and Holy Eucharist

Wednesday in Holy Week, April 17 @ 11 a.m. –  Holy Eucharist in the chapel

Maundy Thursday, April 18 @ 5 p.m. – Holy Eucharist and Stripping of the Altar

Good Friday, April 19 – Community Stations of the Cross @ First United Presbyterian Church @ 12 – 2 & 4 – 6 p.m.

Easter Sunday, April 21 @ 8 & 9:30 a.m. – Festive Holy Eucharist with Easter egg hunt for young people following the service

Ash Wednesday, March 6; March 20; April 3 & 17 @ 9:30 a.m. – Lenten Book Study (Holy Solitude: Lenten Reflections with Saints, Hermits, Prophets, and Rebels, by The Rev. Heidi Haverkamp